Tamworth MP to support Prime Minister, Lichfield MP will listen to what she has to say

Wednesday, 12th December 2018

THE threshold for a ‘no confidence’ vote in Theresa May Has been reached and so a ballot will now take place this evening to decide her future.

Theresa May will now face a no confidence vote in her leadership of the Conservative Party tonight, with the voting taking place between 6.00pm and 8.00pm.

Christopher Pincher, the Member of Parliament for Tamworth has said this morning that he will be supporting the Prime Minister in the vote.

Mr Pincher said: “Thank you to the many residents that have already contacted me on the confidence vote called for this evening. I will be supporting the Prime Minister.

“I think trying to change leader at this time when the PM is trying to negotiate a resolution to the Backstop is dangerous. I also fear that the Brexit process could be damaged by the uncertainty of a leadership election. Now is not the time. Let her get on with the job.”

Michael Fabricant, the Member of Parliament for Lichfield has said this morning that he is undecided yet as to how he will vote.

He Told Tamworth Informed: “I did not submit a letter to the 1922 and the timing of this vote is unfortunate as the Prime Minister has not completed her round of visits with EU leaders to resolve the Irish backstop question.  It’s also sad that this had to happen while she was abroad negotiating on behalf of our country.

“However, the vote has now been triggered and I will listen very carefully to what she has to say when she addresses the 1922 at 5pm tonight.  The Confidence Vote will be at 6pm.

“I had already explained to the Prime Minister at the beginning of last week in a one to one that the Irish backstop causes the biggest problem for me.  I hope she has found a solution or an alternative way forward.  If not, the Government could fall anyway as Northern Irish DUP MPs have said they will no longer support the Government in the House of Commons.”

“All these factors will be weighing in my mind when I cast my vote this evening.”

Earlier this year we spoke to Bill Cash, the Member of Parliament and Chair of the European Scrutiny Committee.  This is what he had to say:

If Mrs May wins the vote tonight, she cannot be challenged for 12 months.

If Mrs May loses, she must resign and there will be a leadership contest to pick her replacement.

How do MPs trigger a vote of no confidence?

Under current rules, 15 per cent of Conservative MPs must write to the chairman of the 1922 Committee, Graham Brady, to trigger a vote of no confidence in Theresa May. At present, 48 MPs would need to do this. The committee is then required to consider and hold a vote.

What is the 1922 Committee?

This is an influential committee of all backbench Conservative MPs. They meet every week – when the House of Commons is in sitting – to discuss the party’s frontbenchers. The MPs who originally formed it were elected in 1922. One of the committee’s biggest responsibilities is overseeing the leadership elections within the Conservative Party.